Prof. Henryk Skarżyński wins Wiktor Award

Home / News / Prof. Henryk Skarżyński wins Wiktor Award

Prof. Henryk Skarżyński wins Wiktor Award

Prof. Henryk Skarżyński wins Wiktor Award

Oscars are awarded for performance in movies, and Wiktors for performance in life – said Krzysztof Ziemiec, who opened the Wiktor Awards Ceremony 2014 on 30 March in the Royal Castle in Warsaw. For the role of his life – that of a doctor who guides his patients from the world of silence to the world of sounds – Prof. Henryk Skarżyński won the Wiktor Television Academy Award in the category ‘Personality of Science and Culture’.

Wiktor goes to a physician. His medical work is pioneering not only on the scale of Poland, but internationally – said Joanna Moro, presenting Wiktor Award to Prof. Skarżyński. – This award is an acknowledgement of his medical and scientific achievements. Most of all it symbolizes the gratitude of all patients, who thanks to him can hear the world – added the actress. Thanking for the award Prof. Skarżyński referred to her words. – Behind this awards stands a great victory of deaf and hard of hearing patients, who returned to the world of sounds. Wiktor will enlarge this family.

– Nominees in this category come from different areas of social file – said Prof. Skarżyński during the ceremony at the Royal Castle. – They affect millions of viewers or save a single life. It is hard to compare our work. I am grateful that it is notices, appreciated, although sometimes it is hard. Success has also a dark side. Everyone who achieved it, knows it.

Krzysztof Ziemiec who hosted this celebration, gave his personal recommendation of the World Hearing Center created by the Laureate. – I had an opportunity to visit Professor’s clinic when we were recording a program. It is a great place. I would not wish anyone to need to visit it for health reasons, but if you go there, you will have an excellent care.

The Wiktor Television Academy awarded Prof. Skarżyński, who in the ‘Personality of Science and Culture’ category competed against prominent and distinguished personalities, such as Prof. Adam Maciejewski, Prof. Karol Modzelewski, Agnieszka Odorowicz or Prof. Janusz Skalski.

Wiktors are awarded to oustanding personalities, whose charisma, knowledge or skills have been noted by viewers. They have a 30-year long tradition. Among the laureates there is a splendid ensemble of stars and such personages as Lech Wałęsa,  Jerzy Waldorff,  Prof. Aleksander Krawczuk, Prof. Leszek Balcerowicz, Prof. Jerzy Buzek. In 1989 the Laureate was the Pope John Paul II.

Founding father of the award was a well-known journalist, Józef Węgrzyn. Statuette has been designed by an eminent Polish sculptor, Andrzej Renes. Laureates are chosen by the Wiktor Television Academy comprising laureates of previous editions. They are awarded in ten categories, including nine nominated by former laureates and one awarder by the audience.

This year’s laureates were: Arleta Bojke (journalist of the year), Tomasz Kot (actor of the year), Dawid Podsiadło (performer of the year), Paweł Pawlikowski and Mariusz Treliński (artist of the year), Martyna Wojciechowska (personality of the year), Stephane Antiga (discovery of the year), Donald Tusk (politician of the year), Kamil Stoch and Mariusz Wlazły (sportsman of the year). The audience award was given to Cezary Żak. Moreover, on its 30th anniversary the Wiktor Television Academy awarded five Superwiktors. They went to: Stefan Bratkowski, Juliusz Braun, Krzysztof Zanussi, Jacek Żakowski and Prof. Jerzy Bralczyk.